The Commonwealth

An association of 53 independent countries encompassing many races and faiths. Each is committed to upholding shared values and principles and working together to promote democracy, human rights, the rule of law and equality for all citizens, in accordance with the Commonwealth Charter. The total population is 2.3 billion, one third of the world, of which 60% is under 30 years of age. The Commonwealth spans the five regions of Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe and the Pacific.

The Commonwealth shared values of development, democracy and diversity provide fertile ground for our activities. Further information on the Commonwealth can be found on the Commonwealth Secretariat’s website at